New Jersey’s Child Passenger Safety Law Requires the Following:
- Children up to 8 or 80 pounds must ride in a safety or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no rear seat, the child must sit in the front seat secured by a safety or booster seat.
- Children under age 8 who weigh more than 80 pounds must wear a seat belt anywhere in the vehicle.
- Passengers age 8 to 18 (regardless of weight) must wear a seat belt anywhere inside a vehicle.
- It’s recommended that all children under the age of 13 years be seated in the rear seat with proper restraints.
- New Jersey’s Child passenger safety law was upgraded because motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children between ages of 6 to 14.
- More than 1,700 children up to age 14 died in motor vehicle crashes nationally in 1999, with the majority not in a safety seat or seat belt.
THE 4 STEPS TO CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY
1) INFANT SEATS: Designed for children up to 1 year old and 20 pounds in weight. Infant seats are always positioned rear-facing.
2) TODDLER SEATS: Designed for children between 20 and 40 pounds. Toddler seats are always positioned forward-facing.
3) BOOSTER SEATS: Designed for children between 40 and 80 pounds. Booster seats raise a child so that the vehicle’s lap-and-shoulder belt fits properly.
4) SEAT BELTS: New Jersey law requires drivers and all passengers to wear their belts.
Sgt. Duardo are Child Restraint Systems (CRS) Technicians. Research has found that nationwide, 85% of child seats are installed improperly. This problem is due in part to the number of combinations that result from the hundreds of car seat and vehicle models and confusion on the part of parents/guardians trying to properly install the child seat. Trained for 40 hours, Sgt. Duardo can properly inspect and install infant, toddler and booster seats.
RESIDENTS ONLY CAN REQUEST A CHILD SAFETY SEAT INSPECTION OR INSTALL BY CONTACTING THE EMERSON POLICE AT 201-262-2800.
•EVERY SAFETY SEAT INSPECTION or INSTALL TAKES APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES